Follow us on:

Special RAS Events

We've planned several virtual gatherings for RAS society members and Students. Scroll below for more information.

Meet the Leaders (formally Lunch with Leaders) 

This is the virtual equivalent of the popular Lunch with Leaders event! Students sign up for only one time slot to chat informally with academic and industry leaders around the world. Leaders will begin with an informal 5-minute presentation about themselves, and then answer questions from the student attendees.

  • Date and time of event:
    This event will be held during multiple days. Participants (mostly students) can sign up for specific a time slot to meet with a leader. We have prepared 5 or more - separate, smaller events held on multiple days/timezones.
    We have confirmed the following leaders for the following dates:
    • Tuesday, June 2nd @ 12:00 PDT / 19:00 GMT
      Aleksandra Faust, 2020 RAS Early Industry Career Award in Robotics and Automation
    • Wednesday, June 3rd @ 10:00 am AEST / 00:00 GMT
      Peter Corke, 2020 RAS George Saridis Leadership Award, (and colleagues)
    • Thursday, June 4th @ 8:00 pm JST / 11:00 GMT
      Toshio Fukuda, IEEE President
    • Monday, June 8th @ 12:30 JST / 03:30 GMT
      Zhidong Wang (RAS VP EPSB), Yasushi Nakauchi (RAS VP FAB), Yasuhisa Hirata (RAS AdCom 2022)
    • Tuesday, June 9th @ 1:00 am KST / 16:00:00 GMT (Monday, June 8)
      Frank Park, RAS President Elect
    • Tuesday, June 9th @ 12:00 CDT / 17:00 GMT
      Lydia Kavraki, 2020 RAS Pioneer Award Winner
    • Thursday, June 11th @ 10:00 am PDT / 17:00:00 GMT
      Allison Okamura, Editor-in-Chief of RA-L and Marcia O'Malley, IROS 2020 Program Chair
    • Thursday, June 11th @ 12:00 pm PDT / 19:00:00 GMT
      Dieter Fox, 2020 RAS Pioneer Award WinnerFriday,
    • June 12th @ 3:00 pm CEST / 13:00 GMT
      Torsten Kroeger, RAS Vice President of Conference Activities
  • Format of event: Live
  • Main organizer: Geoff Nagy: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Is registration required? Yes.
  • Link to registration: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/3834d7362695475f915f52b1653439c9

 

Student Video Challenge: 

Test your creative and video design skills in this digital event where you design and upload a video on 1 of the following 2 topics:

  • How Robots Can Help During COVID-19?    OR
  • Funny Robot Videos from Your Lab

Videos should contain content belonging only to you or your lab, and should be less than 5 minutes long. Simply upload your submission to YouTube as an Unlisted video and submit the link to Cara Nunuz (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). Submissions are judged by the SAC and may be used in online promotional media.

  • Final video submissions due by June 15, 2020
  • Participants are invited to upload their videos. The submitted videos should be no longer than 5 minutes
    • Upload videos to YouTube as unlisted and email link to Cara by June 15, 2020, 11:50 CEST
    • Videos should be in one of two categories: How Can Robots Help During COVID-19? OR Funny Robot Videos From Your Lab
  • Main organizer: Cara Nunez: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Submission Form: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/e0188d92671f443bb2b2de34fd87f324.

 SAC Logo Design Contest 

Do you have a background in or experience with digital or graphic design? The SAC wants you! ...to design a new logo for them!
The old logo can be found here: https://www.ieee-ras.org/students/about-sac. Please submit a vector graphic image so that we can use it in a variety of settings and scales. Email your submissions to Cara Nunez (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). Submissions are judged by the SAC and one winner will be selected. The winning submission will replace the old one and will be featured online.

  • Final submissions due by June 15, 2020
  • Main organizer: Cara Nunez: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Submission Form: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/4dfbe6d80d9f4feda502637d11ebdc73

 SAC Robot Trivia 

Think you know about robots? We'll see about that! Join us virtually for a SAC-hosted trivia event where we test your knowledge of robots in popular culture, music, movies, and even from a technical perspective. Please form a team and sign up for only 1 time slot based on what works best for you and your team members. If team members are not specified, you will be placed onto a team. Each trivia session includes 6-7 rounds of 10 questions each.

  • Date and time of events:
    • June 3rd, 5:00 am CEST (8:00 pm PDT/11:00 pm EDT/03:00 GMT)
    • June 4th, 10:00 pm CEST (1:00 pm PDT/4:00 pm EDT/20:00 GMT)
    • June 8th, 6:00 pm CEST (9:00 am PDT/12:00 EDT/16:00 GMT)
  • Format of event: Live video
  • Main Organizers: Geoff and Blake
  • Is registration required? Yes. Preferably in teams.
  • Link to registration: https://app.smartsheet.com/b/form/d1fc014bb1404fcc89e6942d23780bf6

Young Professionals Networking Event 

Tea with TCs! This informal virtual event is open to ICRA attendees in the early stages of their career — young professionals and researchers. Participants will enjoy a round of “speed networking” with chairs and co-chairs of the RAS Technical Committees (TCs) who will be available for informal conversation centered on new technologies in robotics and automation, future growth in the field, and how to get involved and contribute to RAS Technical Committee work. 
Space for this event will be limited to ensure a more informal interaction so stay tuned for registration information!

  • Date and time of the event: Friday, 19 June 9am-11am est.
  • Format of event: Live speed-networking event using break out rooms in Webex
  • Primary Organizer: Megan Emmons: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Women in Engineering -  Summer Mentoring Event

Please sign up for our Summer Mentoring Event.  We will hold three events across three major regions/timezone groupings, depending on the interest of the registered participants. We will announce the date of the event(s) in June, to be held in July 2020.  The event(s) will consist of small group mentoring, a chatroom with a prominent researcher who is able to give advice/answer questions about your topic of interest.  We expect you will be able to "switch rooms" to visit with multiple researchers during the event.

 

RAS Town Hall

Calling all members of the IEEE Robotics & Automation Society. ICRA 2020 will include a live panel discussion by the Society's past, present, and future presidents: Wolfram Burgard, Seth Hutchinson, and Frank Park. There will be a chance for questions and comments, both live and submitted online. Tell us what you like about the Robotics and Automation Society, what you don’t like, and how we can improve it!

  • Date and time of event: Tuesday, June 9, 10:00am EDT
  • Format of event: Live panel discussion
  • Organizer: Seth Hutchinson
  • Is registration required? Yes, coming soon

Special RAS Events

Stay updated!
Subscribe to the Conference newsletter

captcha